How To deGoogle a Google Pixel 5 phone

Published by Michael Fischer

In 2013, Edward Snowden uncovered that the NSA created a permanent record of every internet activity of every person on earth.

From then on, I started to actively protect my privacy.

I bought an unregistered SIM card and stopped using my real name on the internet.

Now I bought a used Google Pixel 5 smartphone and installed Graphene OS on it.

Here is the step-by-step guide how to de-google a Google Pixel 5 phone:

Buy a used Google Pixel phone on ebay, kleinanzeigen or Craig’s list.

Go to the seller, pay in cash and take the phone with you.

Important: Pay cash, otherwise your purchase can be tracked.

Go somewhere else, unpack your phone and your accessories.

Insert your unregistered SIM card in your phone.

Start the phone.

Update the Google Pixel phone to the latest Android version.

Start a laptop or desktop pc and connect the Google Pixel phone via USB cable.

To start the web installer, open the website https://grapheneos.org/install/web on the computer.

Follow every step exactly as written in the installation guide.

After the installation has finished, watch this video:

How to install Google Maps or Google Camera for the camera.

Vanadium web browser.

How to mirror my screen on a tv etc.

Google Play Services.

Multiple Users.

F-Droid.org

Aurora store (19.34).

Support PrivacyAndSafety

My name is Michael Fischer. I speak English, Spanish, German, and French.

I am an independent blogger writing about privacy and safety.

Research and writing takes a lot of time and I am not funded by any media outlet or vicious billonaire.

Can I ask you for financial support? Please donate here:

Lightning: privacyandsafety@getalby.com, https://getalby.com/p/privacyandsafety

BTC on Bitcoin network: 3DjDR42Am7YYvYRPpgGHUZByb24sMuUfYL

ETH on Ethereum network: 0x67f79ee6bfdbb0a03c291c92494e75532504f720

USDT, USDC, BUSD on Ethereum network: 0xa8217d1dc94f6045df9f4a2020997469ee1c46a9
USDT, USDC, BUSD (ERC-20) deposits are only accepted as ERC-20 token on Ethereum network.

LTC on Litecoin network: MSDRNgaQPHC3gLA3yPBKeToR5vVpqEaWLs

SOL on Litecoin network: DMn7n6SzPrrAfHQq7yAJyPyby8p3K5Rmvf7gwt2jz4dm

Please follow me on Nostr, the new, censorship-resistant social media protocol: npub1wyjpee8etrnm9xvak3rnhmfvu9h5snl0ql7vaal8vlftjp8tltqsfvsdg6

You can also find me on Twitter, Substack Notes, Nostr Iris, or just send me a message to say hi.

Please subscribe to my Substack blog: https://privacyandsafety.substack.com

Please enter your email here to subscribe to my WordPress blog:

You will receive an email with every new blog post I write.


Posted

in

by

Tags:

Comments

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started